banner ad
banner ad
banner ad


| 17 December 2014 | 1 Reply


Label: Republic Records

Release Date: November 17, 2014

Rating: 9.5/10

Reviewed by: Todd “Toddstar” Jolicoeur

The band that everybody loves to hate, yet they sell millions of records, released another gem for their crown in November and just made the cutoff for this years best of list.  “Million Miles An Hour” kicks the disc off with that heavy chugging riff the band has made a recognizable sound of the group and its songs.  The energy in this track gets the foot going and prepares you for some solid rocking for the next forty minutes.  “Edge Of A Revolution” sounds like some of the bands tracks from other discs, but why change a winning formula?  The guitar work from Chad Kroeger and Ryan Peake on this song stands out.  “She Keeps Me Up” has one of the sexiest, funkiest bass lines, courtesy of Mike Kroeger, I have heard in a long time and gives the lyrics that extra nasty feel the band was looking for.  The lead and background vocals give the chorus an added punch.  “Satellite” is the most laid back track on the disc, but it provides a nice bridges between some of the rockers and the other off tempo tunes.  “The Hammer’s Coming Down” is not unfamiliar territory for Nickelback musically, but seems a bit out of place on this collection.  “Sister Sin” closes the disc on a strong note and delivers another track that builds on the bands catalog by giving them another sound and style in their bag of tricks and tracks.

“What Are You Waiting For?” is a great song that grabs you and doesn’t let go until the message has been delivered.  The powerful lyrics of this track are delivered with a driving beat and emotive vocals that give this mellower tune a heavy feel.  “Makes Me Believe Again” is another song that relies on the strength of the lyrics while giving them the perfect musical accompaniment, with a well anchored rhythm section from drummer Daniel Adair and bassist Kroeger.  “Get ‘Em Up” is another great song that borrows from that winning Nickelback writing method – chugging guitars, heavy bottom end, and vocals/lyrics that seem to weave themselves into the music.  The chorus is catchy and anthemic at the same time and provides the disc with a track born to be played live.  “Miss You” is a fun track that brings a relaxed vibe and groove to the disc, while giving the band a little depth, by sounding slightly different than the other songs on the disc.  “Got Me Runnin’ Round” featuring Flo Rida is a great song that gets the head moving, foot tapping, and gets you looking for a dance floor.  The is one of the best tracks on the disc, as it is classic Nickelback without  sounding dated or rehashed.





Category: CD Reviews

About the Author ()

ToddStar - that's me... just a rocking accountant who had dreams of being a rock star. I get to do the next best thing to rocking the globe - I get to take pictures of the lucky ones that do. I love to shoot all genres of music and different types of performers. If it is related to music, I love to photograph it. I get to shoot and hang with not only some of my friends and idols, but some of the coolest people around today.

Comments (1)

Trackback URL | Comments RSS Feed

Sites That Link to this Post

  1. NEWS: TODDSTAR’S TOP 50 RELEASES OF 2014 | 100% ROCK MAGAZINE | 1 January 2015

Leave a Reply

Please verify you\'re a real person: * Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

banner ad
banner ad