banner ad
banner ad
banner ad

MUSIC REVIEW: SIGNAL 13 – Destination Unknown [EP]

Label: Independent

Release Date: April 17, 2020

Rating: 86%

Reviewed by: Todd “Toddstar” Jolicoeur

After reading our recent Dirty Dozen with Signal 13 front woman Vicky Starr and subsequently checking out the lead video from the bands latest release Destination Unknown, I couldn’t wait to dig into the 5-track EP and check it out for myself.  Disc opener and lead single / video “Dirty” is a fun track that takes me back the sleazy videos and songs of the early 80’s that were coming out of LA’s Sunset Strip, including the garage feel and sound.  The lyrics are fun and the vibe of the music makes for a good listen.  The feel of this track lends itself easily to the title.  “Karma” picks up where the opening track left off with, but injects a slightly heavier vibe into the musical vein of the EP.  The rhythm section of drummer Johnny Sexx and bassist Patrick Jenkins anchors the verse and the guitars kick in full swing on the chorus.  Vicky Starr’s gravel filled vocals add depth to the track.  “Make It Rain” kicks the doors down with searing guitar work from Jonathan Lassiter and Chris Starr and some cat call vocals that punctuate the song and disc.  The vocals roll through the track while the chugging rhythm from the guitars, bass, and drums keep the track flowing.  There are glimmers of Lita Ford-like vocals throughout the track that blend well with the heavy groove of the track.  “Stay With Me” is a great followup to Make It Rain in the sequencing as it builds on the guitar riffs, but dials things down slightly in order to allow the vocals to stand out and lead the charge.  The layered vocals on the chorus add some depth.  Disc closer “All Fired Up” has a slightly different sound than the other tracks, but fits well with them at the same time.  The cadence of the track is an interesting shift, but the guitars on the song, as well as the heavy handed drums help fill out the sound.

Tracklisting: Dirty – Karma – Make It Rain – Stay With Me – All Fired Up

Lineup: Vicky Starr (vocals) – Jonathan Lassiter (guitars) – Patrick Jenkins (bass) – Johnny Sexx (drums) – Chris Starr (guitars)






Category: CD Reviews

About the Author ()

ToddStar - that's me... just a rocking accountant who had dreams of being a rock star. I get to do the next best thing to rocking the globe - I get to take pictures of the lucky ones that do. I love to shoot all genres of music and different types of performers. If it is related to music, I love to photograph it. I get to shoot and hang with not only some of my friends and idols, but some of the coolest people around today.

Leave a Reply

Please verify you\'re a real person: * Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

banner ad
banner ad