banner ad
banner ad
banner ad


Label: Independent

Release Date: April 16, 2021

Rating: 91%

Reviewer: Todd “Toddstar” Jolicoeur

A mere six months ago I reviewed the bands EP By The Rules and I ended that with I couldn’t wait to see what they were going to do next and here we are with five more tracks for our listening enjoyment.  Disc opener “Ms. Death” is a great rocker that benefits from Johanna Kari’s vocals and guitars that range from soaring and searing to chugging and subdued.  The rhythm section provides the perfect foundation for this rocker and continues the work form the last release.  “Where Are You Now?” shifts gears and changes the sound and approach, swirling in a pop-like quality in the music that should entice listeners of from P!nk to Avril to listen and enjoy.  The guitars change up from verse to chorus and back, demonstrating Roni Seppänen’s role within the musical component of the song.  “Another Dimension” unfolds with a cool tempo and cadence form drummer Olli Vartiainen that soon gains strength from Jonne Lindqvist’s bass lines and.  The swirled sound of guitars and vocals comes together nicely.  The song has a different feel and groove than most of the track on the EP but helps tie the various songs and sounds together.  “I Confess” starts off with a cool guitar riff that starts to build out the vibe of the song and soon the bottom end jumps into the fray and we are off and running.  Kari’s vocals on this are one of my favorites of the six songs here.  The layered sound on the chorus gives this song depth and helps it rise sonically.  Disc closer and title track “No Control” is the biggest left turn on the disc, but the sound suits the band nicely.  The acoustic driven track allows Roni’s six-string work stand out and really gives Johanna room to run sonically without pushing the limits.  This song is a great way to not only close the short collection, but to get you to push play and listen through once again.

Tracklisting: Ms. Death – Where Are You Now? – Another Dimension – I Confess – No Control

Lineup: Johanna Kari (vocals) – Roni Seppänen (guitar) – Jonne Lindqvist (bass) – Olli Vartiainen (drums)






Category: CD Reviews

About the Author ()

ToddStar - that's me... just a rocking accountant who had dreams of being a rock star. I get to do the next best thing to rocking the globe - I get to take pictures of the lucky ones that do. I love to shoot all genres of music and different types of performers. If it is related to music, I love to photograph it. I get to shoot and hang with not only some of my friends and idols, but some of the coolest people around today.

Leave a Reply

Please verify you\'re a real person: * Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

banner ad
banner ad