banner ad
banner ad
banner ad


| 13 February 2016 | Reply


Label: Independent

Release Date: February 14, 2016

Rating: 9/10

Reviewed by: Todd “Toddstar” Jolicoeur

Rockers Hunter Valentine are hanging it up after the release of their latest EP, The Pledge, and a short tour to promote the disc and say ‘So long for now’ to their fans.  This six-track EP kicks off with “Hurricane,” a catchy punk / rock/ pop hybrid that blends the perfect amount of vocals, guitars, drums, and bass with a shitload of fun attitude and energy.  The chorus is catchy and engaging – I dare you not tap your foot or bang your head slightly to this track.  “Sick Sister” is a little darker track, but maintains the groove of the opening song.  The guitars are fuzzier, with what sounds like a tip of the hat to L7 or Babes In Toyland.  The chorus is a fun swirl of guitars, bass, and drums that build and blend into a wall of sound that drives home a rock groove.  “Empire Of Nothing” is one of the more straight ahead rockers on the disc, and that is a great thing.  The chorus kicks along and is full of emotive vocals that drive home the emotion of the lyrics.  Check out the guitar solo at the bridge on this track – one of the best on the disc.  “Blackout Nights” is a great song that delivers a different vibe from the vocals while the guitars, drums, and bass drone in the background, building the foundation of a killer rock groove that permeates the chorus.  “Burn With It” is a 360* from the other songs on this collection, in that it takes on an almost ballad-like quality, thanks to the turned down guitars and mellower tempo from the rhythm section.  The vocals are as strong as any other song here, without forcing the volume or attitude.  If you wondered if the band could do basic rock, check out this track and wonder no more: they can, and better than a lot of other bands.  Closer and title track “The Pledge” slows the tempo of the disc way down, with a simple piano arrangement that dances underneath the layered vocals and percussion.  Don’t mistake the mellower groove for soft – pay attention to the lyrics and their emotionally driver delivery.  After checking out these tracks, one can only hope the bands planned hiatus is simply that and not the end of the band.

​Tracklisting: Hurricane – Sick Sister – Empire Of Nothing – Blackout Nights – Burn With It – The Pledge






Category: CD Reviews

About the Author ()

ToddStar - that's me... just a rocking accountant who had dreams of being a rock star. I get to do the next best thing to rocking the globe - I get to take pictures of the lucky ones that do. I love to shoot all genres of music and different types of performers. If it is related to music, I love to photograph it. I get to shoot and hang with not only some of my friends and idols, but some of the coolest people around today.

Leave a Reply

Please verify you\'re a real person: * Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

banner ad
banner ad