banner ad
banner ad
banner ad


| 18 February 2015 | Reply


Plus line-up details revealed for newly formatted Awards Party!

WAM Song Of The Year

WA’s premier song competition, not to mention one of Australia’s, we’re excited to reveal the WAM Song Of The Year nominees in 16 categories covering all genres. Celebrating its 25th anniversary, over $40,000 worth in prizes will be distributed to an inspiring mix of upcoming and established talents at an epic public Awards Party, the winners to be announced for the first time ever at B-Shed in Fremantle on Saturday 21 March.

Leading the nominations pack with 5 nods is KUČKA, with Mister & Sunbird and Rag n’ Bone also scoring multiple noms in different categories, whilst Ruby Boots, Kimberley Carlson, The Disappointed, Charlotte Viney, Coin Banks, Trisk and Grace Barbé had multiple songs nominated in single categories. Codee-Lee’s song from WAM’s Sounds Of The South West project appeared, as did songs from well-known artists including Felicity Groom, Lower Spectrum, Tired Lion, Morgan Bain, Matt Gresham, Chaos Divine, Mace Francis Orchestra, Methyl Ethel, The Autumn Isles, The Decline and Scalphunter.

A freshly formatted Awards Party sees the event move from a Thursday to a Saturday, with 2015 nominees Methyl Ethyl and Grace Barbé providing live goodness, plus previous nominee Lilt and DJ John Safari keeping you moving. A mystery MC and special guest presenters will keep you so entertained you’ll forget you’re at an awards night. It debuts in a special venue, Fremantle harbour sunset drinks all part of the experience as the B-Shed warehouse gets transformed for a night to remember. Presale tickets $20+BF WAM members / $25+BF nons from moshtix.

This year’s Song Of The Year Grand Prize winner (selected from the overall pool of category winners) will walk away with the following: $3,000 cash; recording time at the hit-making Albert Studios in Sydney; the opportunity for a publishing deal with Perfect Pitch Publishing; two days recording at Sonic Lolly; mastering provided by William Bowden of King Willy Sound (Grammy award recipient for mastering Goyte’s Somebody That I Used to Know); an online music course valued at $1,640 courtesy of BerkleeOnline; 500 CDs pressed by DiskBank; a RØDE Microphones package; the opportunity to perform at the 2015 WA Music Awards-nominated State Of The Art Festival; and a prime spot on the 2015 WAM Festival line-up.

WAM’s CEO Mike Harris said, “Whether acts sell out venues or never leave their bedrooms, songs were judged equally by independent industry leaders and peers, and the nominees highlight the breadth of quality artistic output from WA artists in 2014. WAM’s Song Of The Year couldn’t happen without the support of its sponsors, so a heavy rocking thank you to the event’s presenting partner RAC, Grand Prize sponsor Alberts, major partners APRA I AMCOS and City Of Fremantle, plus the category and studio sponsors who helped provide the backline to amplify WA talent. I look forward to my first SOTY Awards and WAM doing its bit to recognise and reward local songwriting.”

Sponsored by Clancy’s Fremantle I Studio sponsor Shanghai Twang
Morgan Bain Hold On
Mister and Sunbird 7 Years Bad Luck
Jordan McRobbie A World to See
Katie J White Gypsie
Matt Gresham Whiskey

Sponsored by Country Music Club of Boyup Brook I Studio sponsor Rada
Ruby Boots Wrap Me In A Fever
Codee-Lee Ain’t Got Time For That
Davey Craddock & The Spectacles Better Alone
Jason Norris/The Stirling Rangers If I Should Be Gone In The Morning
Ruby Boots Ruby Blue

Sponsored by Perfect Pitch Publishing I Studio sponsor Fremantle Records
KUČKA Unconditional
Lower Spectrum Khlever
Gravy Murphy Mumps
KUČKA Divinity

Sponsored by Newport Hotel I Studio sponsor Soundbaker
Intenso Band Earthquake
Tobacco Rat Caged Plant
Parnell March New Science
KUČKA Recovery
Josten Myburgh Treant / First Place

Sponsored by The Mustang Bar I Studio sponsor Sonic Lolly
Winter’s Mile Tell My Lover
Rachel Gorman To Have & To Hold
Curtis McEntee I Was Made For Loving You
Mister and Sunbird My Baby Must Be Blind
The Justin Walshe Folk Machine Willshire

Sponsored by Diskbank I Studio sponsor Sovereign Studios
Chaos Divine Soldiers
Ragdoll Here Today
Let’s Kill Uncle Memento
Beyond Never One Thousand Years
All This Filth Programmed To Suffer

Sponsored by The Ellington Jazz Club & Perth Jazz Society I Studio sponsor
Poons Head
Trisk Charon
Mace Francis Orchestra Corio Landscape
Lofty Heights Ja Boyia
Luke Minness The Wright Influence
Trisk Commodity

Sponsored by Nannup Music Festival I Studio sponsor Blackbird Studios
The Merindas Ready To Love
Bryron Pickett Beautiful Memories
Kimberley Carlson Waiting
Yolande Yarran Little Old Quairading Town
Kimberley Carlson Coming Home

Sponsored by Hertz I Studio sponsor Underground Studios
Katie J White Gypsie
Codee-Lee Ain’t Got Time For That
Harry Jakamarra The Captain Goes Down
Shenfield Vagabond
Junior Bowles World I Owe

Sponsored by 96fm I Studio sponsor Debaser Studios
Methyl Ethel Rogues
Felicity Groom Better Days
The Revelationship Rocket Boy
KUČKA Unconditional
The Autumn Isles Waking Dreams

Sponsored by SAE Institute I Studio sponsor Sumo Sound
Rag n’ Bone Wood & Wire
The Caballeros Another Day
The Decline Cool Kids Can’t Die
Scalphunter There Will Be Change
The Bob Gordons Too Drunk

Sponsored by City of Fremantle I Studio sponsor The Wasteland
Tired Lion I Don’t Think You Like Me
The Disappointed I Disagree With Myself
Husband Caught
Rag n’ Bone Wood & Wire
The Disappointed Weird Peace

Sponsored by Concept Music I Studio sponsor Electric City Studios
Charlotte Viney Hurricane
Ruth Burke Hiding
Claudia Tero I’m Afraid
Identify Just Don’t Say It
Charlotte Viney Only Thing I Need

SCHOOLS 15 – 17
Sponsored by RAC I Studio sponsor Gibsonic
Mike Waller Seasons
Sydnee Carter Life Raft
Stella Kelly Skin
Evanda and Luchii This Is Life
Teischa Trick Of The Light

Sponsored by APRA AMCOS I Studio sponsor Tone City
Coin Banks Someone
Sid Pattni Go Back Home FT. Meg Mac
Coin Banks Highs And Lows
Sarah Pellicano Playing With Fire (feat. Roc Walla)
Marksman Lloyd You Won’t Be The One (feat. Whisky Winter)

Sponsored by Fairbridge Festival I Studio sponsor Crank Studios
Grace Barbé Fatige
Tara Tiba A Persian Dream
Alon Shimon Shai-Kaspi Megilat Hefker (No Man’s Scroll)
Ensemble Formidable Swing Swang Swung
Grace Barbé Zis Nou De

Category: News

About the Author ()

Editor, 100% ROCK MAGAZINE

Leave a Reply

Please verify you\'re a real person: * Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

banner ad
banner ad