banner ad
banner ad
banner ad

FIVE FINGER DEATH PUNCH – The Wrong Side of Heaven and the Righteous Side of Hell, Volume 1


Label: Prospect Park

Release Date:July 30, 2013

Rating: 10/10

Reviewed by: Todd Jolicoeur

There are some metal albums that people wait on pins and needles for.  The latest from 5FDP is one of those albums.  There was so much mystique surrounding the tracks, collaborations, and sound that is left fans going nuts. Lift Me Up” is the opening track and lead single from the disc.  This track features metal god Rob Halford in a cool metal duet with Ivan.  The sound is tight and demonstrates the metal heritage that 5FDP brings to their own music, as Rob’s and Ivan’s voices blend well and seem to take this song to another level.  “Watch You Bleed” leaves you wondering what is coming when the track opens, but make no mistake this is all metal and all aggression.  The track takes on a new life as Ivan brings his A game to the mic.  The guitars are tight and the rhythm section full on this track.  “You” has the same feel and rhythm as the previously track, but the vocals really jump out at you through the cool guitar riffs and heavy bass lines.  The chorus is catchy and should keep the minions happy as they sing this one while head banging the song away.  “Wrong Side of Heaven” is a beautiful ballad, as only 5FDP can record.  The track not only demonstrates a seldom seen side of the band, but allows Ivan to stretch his vocal chords and really show off his talents as a singer.  The guitars add depth and attitude to the track during the bridges.  “Burn MF” turns the attitude, metal, and volume up to 11.  This song is meant to be played as loud as you can get.  Guitarists Zoltan Bathory and Jason Hook really take the playing to the next level on this track, keeping the groove in place and the speed of the song moving.  Jeremy Simpson plays his ass off keeping up.  “I.M.Sin” gives other tracks on the disc a run for their money.  The aggressive nature of the track really comes through in Ivan’s vocals, but the rhythm section, lead by bassist Chris Kael, really keep this track from getting away from itself.  The song is a real punisher and on par with the other tracks on the disc.

“Anywhere But Here”  is another track that stands out.  This song comes storming out of the gate, but slows down a bit as the vocals kick in.  Featuring Maria Brink of In This Moment during the bridges and later choruses of the track, the higher octave of Maria’s voice adds a cool dimension to the song and band.  “Dot Your Eyes” is one reason the fans can’t get enough of this band.  This track is tight from the first guitar lick to the last.  The vocals are all balls and attitude, while the guitars step up and give everything they have.  The drums and bass keep this song chugging along and help give it a heavier metal edge.  Ivan really gives his all and sings from somewhere deep inside.  “M.I.N.E (End This Way)” is one of the most mellow tracks on the disc, but don’t think for a second it isn’t metal or that the band has gone soft.  This track features some phenomenal guitar work and introspective lyrics.  The vocals are strong and display emotion unseen elsewhere on this disc.  “Mama Said Knock You Out” is one of the most unexpected tracks on the disc, but if any metal band has ever pulled off a rap cover, this is it.  Utilizing the talent of Tech N9ne, the band gives a total metal spin on the LL Cool J classic.  The drums are ferocious, the guitars are heavy, and the bass even heavier.  The vocals make the track really pop from the speakers.  Moody really brings another hidden talent to the table with this track.  “Diary of a Deadman” follows the vein of the lighter tracks on the disc.  The vocals are emotion filled and really show how diverse Ivan can be when he is behind a mic.  The rest of the band steps up their game and delivers a heavy track that doesn’t drown the meaning and thought behind the song.  The final three tracks are alternate version of other tracks on the disc.  These tracks are all accessorized with other vocalists that add their own magic to the great tracks that already exist.  “I.M.Sin” features Max Cavalera of Soulfly, “Anywhere But Here” is converted to more of a duet and again features Maria Brink of ITM.  The disc closes out with a killer version of “Dot Your Eyes” that features Hatebreed frontman Jamey Jasta.

Damn I cannot wait for Volume 2 later this year!

Category: Articles, CD Reviews

About the Author ()

ToddStar - that's me... just a rocking accountant who had dreams of being a rock star. I get to do the next best thing to rocking the globe - I get to take pictures of the lucky ones that do. I love to shoot all genres of music and different types of performers. If it is related to music, I love to photograph it. I get to shoot and hang with not only some of my friends and idols, but some of the coolest people around today.

Leave a Reply

Please verify you\'re a real person: * Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

banner ad
banner ad