banner ad
banner ad
banner ad

Lissie’s “Back To Forever,” The Follow-up To “Catching A Tiger,” Set For September 10 Release On Fat Possum Records

| 18 June 2013 | Reply


Fat Possum Records will release Back to Forever, the new studio album from Lissie, on September 10. Produced by Garret “Jacknife” Lee (R.E.M., Snow Patrol, Silversun Pickups), the 12-song collection is every bit as frank as 2010’s Catching A Tiger, but reflects an objectivity and depth that come only with the benefit of hindsight, after healing from the hard knocks endured at love’s hands. In short, the Quad City native has grown into the Mezcal-and-cigarettes voice that was so riveting on her debut album, which has sold more than 250,000 copies worldwide, been certified Gold in the UK and Norway and brought her a host of accolades, with Paste Magazine naming her Best New Solo Artist, VH1 tapping her as a “You Oughta Know” artist and a Q Awards nomination for Best Breakthrough Artist.

Lissie and her band recorded Back to Forever late last year at The Garage in Topanga Canyon, Seahorse Sound Studios in downtown Los Angeles and Brotheryn Studios in Ojai, California. Special guests Catherine and Allison Pierce of The Pierces and Barbara Gruska (Belle Brigade) are featured on backing vocals. See below for track listing.

She will be previewing songs from Back to Forever on her upcoming tour, which kicks off this Saturday, June 15, in Norway and includes performances at the Bumbershoot Festival and Austin City Limits Festival in the U.S.  With the run taking her throughout Europe, Lissie seized the opportunity to purchase tickets to see one of her favorite artists, Bruce Springsteen, in France. Then came news that she would get to see him in London, too – where she’ll play the second stage of London’s Hard Rock Calling right before Springsteen’s main stage set on June 30. See below for itinerary.

Fans can see the video for lead single “Shameless” at“Shameless” – which was produced by Julian Emery, who also worked with Lissie on Catching A Tiger – bluntly addresses those who let hype dictate their opinions, but ultimately emerges as an anthem for individuality. “It isn’t every day I feel like I need to have an opinion on popular culture, but that day I definitely had an opinion,” Lissie says with a laugh. “‘Shameless’ was written just as much about my insecurities and me feeling defensive as it was about making a statement against what I don’t want to be.”

“The Habit” is a soaring, searing plea to break the cycle of addiction, whether to a person, substance or anything else, and the spirited “I Don’t Wanna Got To Work” offers a refreshingly honest view of exactly where a college education will get one these days: mired in debt and stuck in a thankless job. The UK publication Clash, in a two-page feature on Lissie, calls Back to Forever “an album that evolves the country-rock aura of ‘Catching A Tiger’ into a more intrepid, LA-pop realm – think prime-era Stevie Nicks rocking a Fender and you’re halfway there.”

Lissie grew up in Rock Island, Illinois, near the Mississippi River, speaking her mind and writing songs from an early age. Her five-song EP, Why You Runnin’, produced by Bill Reynolds of Band of Horses, was ranked among the Eight Most Auspicious Musical Debuts of 2009 by Paste. Her full-length debut, Catching A Tiger, which was co-produced by Reynolds and Jacquire King (Kings of Leon), was released in 2010. Scads of festival performances (including Bonnaroo, Coachella, Lollapalooza, Glastonbury and iTunes Festival), television appearances and film/TV song placements followed. Along the way, Lissie also released a live CD/DVD of her sold-out show at London’s Shepherd’s Bush, racked up more than five million cumulative views for her live videos of songs like Lady Gaga’s “Bad Romance,” Kid Cudi’s “Pursuit Of Happiness” and Metallica’s “Nothing Else Matters” – songs that appear on her five-song 2011 EP Covered Up With Flowers – and set the wheels in motion for her own special edition Metl Mezcal.


  1. It’s The Habit
  2. Further Away (Romance Police)
  3. Shameless
  4. They All Want You
  5. Sleepwalking
  6. I Don’t Wanna Go To Work
  7. Mountain Top Removal
  8. Love in the City
  9. Bet on You
  10. Cold Fish
  11. Can’t Take It Back
  12. Back to Forever



19 – Rockefeller – Oslo, Norway

20 – Slipen Scene – Rognan, Norway

30 – Hard Rock Calling – London, UK


11 – Stavernfestivalen – Stavern, Norway

12 – Odderoya Live – Kristiansand, Norway

13 – Ilosaarirock Festival – Joensuu, Finland

26 – Trollrock – Norway

27 – Secret Garden Party – Cambridgeshire, UK


3 – Camp Bestival – UK

8 – Stars in Town – Schaffhausen, Switzerland

17 – V Festival – UK

18 – V Festival – UK


2 – Bumbershoot Festival – Seattle, WA

5 – Bestival – Isle of Wight, UK


4-6 – ACL Festival – Austin, TX

11-13 – ACL Festival – Austin, TX

Category: Articles

About the Author ()

ToddStar - that's me... just a rocking accountant who had dreams of being a rock star. I get to do the next best thing to rocking the globe - I get to take pictures of the lucky ones that do. I love to shoot all genres of music and different types of performers. If it is related to music, I love to photograph it. I get to shoot and hang with not only some of my friends and idols, but some of the coolest people around today.

Leave a Reply

Please verify you\'re a real person: * Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

banner ad
banner ad