banner ad
banner ad
banner ad

Sharks’ Forthcoming Album “Selfhood” Streaming In Full One Week Early Via Rock Sound

| 23 April 2013 | Reply
LOS ANGELES, CA – April 22, 2013 – The UK’s Sharks today unveiled their much-anticipated new album “Selfhood” which is currently streaming in full via Rock Sound. To listen, click HERE. “Selfhood” is due out next Tuesday, April 30th via Rise Records.

Selfhood is the follow up to their striking 2012 offering No Gods, which NME called, “joyous blue-collar punk from Leamington Spa… a starry-eyed celebration of yearning on a US factory floor, as idealised by British spa town punks.” See below for album art, full track-listing and pre-order bundles.

Selfhood was recorded in just two weeks in Southampton, UK at The Ranch Studio and produced by Lewis Johns (Gnarwolves, Bastions). The album channels influences from the likes of The Smiths, Richard Hawley and The Cribs. This new release expands on the explosive punk-meets-Brit-pop anthems on No Gods, and showcases a more mature and solid live band – a result of endless international touring in support of past releases.

“I wrote most of the lyrics in a room above a morgue in which I lived with my fiancée for about five months,” said Mattock. “The place was an old Victorian building with no heat, running water, or bathroom. It wasn’t even legally residential. A lot of what I was going through around this period is channeled in the lyrics. These are the most intimate and personal songs I’ve written – thus Selfhood is the most fitting title.”

Born in 2007, Sharks is James Mattock (vocals), Andrew Bayliss (guitar), Sam Lister (drums), and Carl Murrihy (bass). They released their first independent EP, Shallow Waters, in 2008 and drummed up a serious buzz while playing with the likes of Gallows, The Wedding Present, Social Distortion, Hot Water Music, The Gaslight Anthem, Baby Shambles and more. In 2011 they released The Joys of Living 2008-2010, which BBC’s Zane Lowe praised as “the sound of a band reaching that moment when they are absolutely ready.” Their 2012 release No Gods introduced the band to U.S. audiences, with Alternative Press declaring that their music “bristles with a wonderful sense of rock and roll heritage that serves as a tribute to fallen heroes… something refreshing and contemporary.”

Stay tuned for announcements on U.S. touring plans.

“All we desire to achieve is the connection of an emotion sincerely felt.”


  1. Selfhood
  2. Your Bloody Wings
  3. Portland
  4. I Won’t Taint
  5. The More You Ask Me, The Less I’m Sure
  6. Sunday’s Hand
  7. 22
  8. Pale
  9. Gold
  10. Room With A Grey View
  11. My Wild One

Like us on Facebook   Follow us on Twitter

Category: Articles

About the Author ()

ToddStar - that's me... just a rocking accountant who had dreams of being a rock star. I get to do the next best thing to rocking the globe - I get to take pictures of the lucky ones that do. I love to shoot all genres of music and different types of performers. If it is related to music, I love to photograph it. I get to shoot and hang with not only some of my friends and idols, but some of the coolest people around today.

Leave a Reply

Please verify you\'re a real person: * Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

banner ad
banner ad