banner ad
banner ad
banner ad


| 19 March 2013 | Reply


LOS ANGELES — March, 19 2013 — Rod Stewart has completed his first album of new material in almost 20 years.  The landmark new album, titled “Time” marks Stewart’s long-awaited return to his songwriting roots and features 12 tracks, 11 of which he wrote and produced.  “Time” will be released May 7 by Capitol Records and will be available for worldwide pre-order on iTunes (Click here) and Amazon beginning today (Click here).  The iTunes pre-order will also include a deluxe edition with 3 bonus songs including “Legless,” another original Stewart track.

In anticipation, early this morning Capitol Records released an exclusive video featuring portions of seven original new songs set to a montage of never-before-seen videos filmed throughout the making of the album. The video can be viewed at or

During an early preview of seven tracks, Billboard proclaimed, “Stewart rocks again.” “Lushly produced with an abundance of tempo and an overall guitar-based core sound, his inimitable warm vocals sound as strong as ever.”

Stewart’s first single, “She Makes Me Happy” premieres on U.S. radio this morning and will available for download at all digital retailers beginning at midnight PDT on March 19.  The iTunes pre-order for “Time” will launch simultaneously. Fans who pre-order the album on iTunes will instantly receive a download of “She Makes Me Happy.”  In addition, due to the overwhelming anticipation surrounding Stewart’s new album, on April 8th the second track, “Finest Woman,” will also make its U.S. radio premiere.

“Time” is a landmark release in Stewart’s career, born from a burst of inspiration from which he rediscovered his voice as a songwriter and rekindled his gift for writing the honest, nerve-touching narratives that have been the cornerstone to the first three decades of his career.  Since 1991, Stewart, the lyricist and melodist behind such staples as “Tonight’s The Night,” “You Wear It Well,” “You’re In My Heart,” “The Killing of Georgie” and the indelible “Maggie May,” had simply lost his songwriting muse. But, beginning in 2011, during the period he began working on what would become his internationally best-selling autobiography, Rod, it returned.

Said Stewart, “Something about that process of reviewing my life for the book reconnected me and that was it: I was away. Suddenly ideas for lyrics were piling up in my head.  Next thing I knew, I had a song called ‘It’s Over’ about divorce and separation. And now I was getting up in the middle of the night and scrambling for a pen to write things down, which has never happened to me. I finished seven or eight songs very quickly and I still wasn’t done and it became apparent that I would eventually have a whole album of material to record, which had never happened before.”

“TIME” tracklisting

01 She Makes Me Happy

02 Can’t Stop Me Now

03 It’s Over

04 Brighton Beach

05 Beautiful Morning

06 Live The Life

07 Finest Woman

08 Time

09 Picture In A Frame

10 Sexual Religion

11 Make Love To Me Tonight

12 Pure Love

“TIME” iTunes Deluxe Edition (Bonus Tracks)

01 Love Has No Pride

02 Corina Corina

03 Legless

Rod Stewart is a two-time inductee into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, a Grammy Living Legend®, and in 2007 he was bestowed the prestigious CBE (Commander of the British Empire). He has released 27 studio albums and garnered an estimated 150 million in album sales worldwide.  Later this year, Stewart is scheduled kick off his “Live The Life” tour in Europe beginning June 1, followed by his return this July to his residency, “Rod Stewart: The Hits” at Caesars Palace in Las Vegas, before resuming the North American leg of his “Live The Life” tour with Steve Winwood beginning October 17. Click here for tour dates and to purchase tickets.

Pre-order TIME in the iTunes store:


View the video at or

Category: Articles

About the Author ()

ToddStar - that's me... just a rocking accountant who had dreams of being a rock star. I get to do the next best thing to rocking the globe - I get to take pictures of the lucky ones that do. I love to shoot all genres of music and different types of performers. If it is related to music, I love to photograph it. I get to shoot and hang with not only some of my friends and idols, but some of the coolest people around today.

Leave a Reply

Please verify you\'re a real person: * Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

banner ad
banner ad