banner ad
banner ad
banner ad

Rainy Day Women Win WAM Song of the Year 2012’s Grand Prize!

| 20 October 2012 | Reply

Indie popsters Rainy Day Women last night were awarded the Grand Prize for their cracking song Sleigh Bed at the annual WAM Song Of The Year Awards Night.

Earlier in the evening they took out the award for the Pop category, though got beaten in the Love category for their track Aimee by Sugarpuss for their particularly love-ly Falling Outta Love. There was certainly no shortage of sweet lovin’ displayed for Rainy Day Women though, the Grand Prize winners walking away with $2,000 cash, three days recording at Albert Studios in Sydney engineered by Wayne Connolly, a mentoring session from Alberts Creative Services; an album distribution deal to China courtesy of 88tc88, a mastering session with James Hewgill Music, 500 CDs pressed by DiskBank, an opportunity for a publishing deal with Perfect Pitch Publishing, a Berkleemusic online music course and a RØDE Microphones package. They also have an opportunity to perform at the AGWA Nights finale in November and at the 2013 WAMi Festival, and to have their song included onthe 2013 Kiss My WAMi compilation. In other words, a veritable truckload of prizes!

Rainy Day Women were presented with the Grand Prize award by WAM CEO, Wendy Were, at the Fly By Night Musicians Club in front of a full house of nominees, fans, sponsors, industry VIPs and the generally curious – there just to revel in the creation and performance of exceptional home-grown music.

The night was hosted by the always entertaining Darren de Mello from 96FM, and guests were treated to superb performances by this year’s Experimental category winner Kucka (receiving a distribution deal in France through and an invitation to the Qwartz Electronic Music Awards in Paris in April 2013), Indigenous nominees and Mentally Healthy winners Yabu Band, last year’s Grand Prize-winning combo Timothy Nelson & The Infidels, and Boom! Bap! Pow! who finished the night off in boomingly fine fashion.

Other success stories that excited including Codie Sundstrom and Brayden Sibbald, who were both nominees in the School Age 15 – 17 Years category but, despite their young ages, respectively won the Regional and World/Folk categories; The Community’s FG who scored three nominations and won the Urban/Hip Hop category; and Morgan Bain who took out the School Age 15 – 17 Years award for the second year running.

All categories:

Sleigh Bed by Rainy Day Women

Blues / Roots
Sponsored by Clancy’s Fish Pub
Bitter Tears by John Read
Driller by Dilip n the Davs WINNER
Kimberley Moon by Matt Cal
My Baby Must Be Blind by Mister & Sunbird
Too Much Information by Mason Clarke aka Ego Libido

Sponsored by Boyup Brook Country Music Club
Banged Up by Polly Medlen Band
I Won’t Be Too Far Behind by Jonny Taylor
Love Songs by Wes Snowball
Shifting Sands by David Hyams
Take Me Home by The Ghost Hotel WINNER
Electronic/ Dance
Sponsored by SAE Institute
Blanket by James Bradbury [DeadCollection]
Incandescence by Ylem
Slew by Ylem WINNER
Swim (Winter Sleep Rework) by Lilt
We are Home Again by The Brow Horn Orchestra

Sponsored by Qwartz Electronic Music Awards
Mollusc by TheIntensoBand
Polly (serialkillersundays) by Kučka WINNER
Rumination by Cycle~440
Tetraplegiah by Christopher de Groot
Zip Up Jacket Combination Lock by TheIntensoBand

Sponsored by Lang Studios & Manticore Productions
Bury The King by Goat
Honorary Member of The First High Society by Castle Bravo
Never Sleep Again by Chainsaw Hookers
Sleazebag by Sleepfreak
Walk Away by The Sixth Extinction WINNER

Sponsored by Nannup Music Festival
Blue Stranger by Patrick Laurel [OZ Island]
Born on the River by Jarred Wall [Jake and the Cowboys] WINNER
Crash by Jarred Wall [Jake and the Cowboys]
Petrol Paint & Glue by Yabu Band
Some Boy by Louisa Edwards aka Baby Kool

Sponsored by The Ellington Jazz Club
Fade Away by Rick Webster
Maelstrom by Abbey/Foster/Falle WINNER
Roessle by Tal Cohen Quartet
The Busker by Chris Foster [Chris Foster Trio]
There’s More Fish in the Sea by Tal Cohen Quartet

Sponsored by WAM
Aimee by Rainy Day Women
Driftwood by Helen Shanahan
Falling Outta Love by Brian Mitra & Jake Webb [Sugarpuss] WINNER
I’ll Tell The Water of You by Sam Carmody & Carmen Pepper [Warning Birds]
Priority Tree by Patient Little Sister

Mentally Healthy
Sponsored by the Mental Health Commission WA
Grey Days by Kris Kingwell
Milliner’s Song by Claire Moodie
Talk About It by Slackjaw
That Makes You Feel Better by Dave Taylor
Petrol Paint & Glue by Yabu Band WINNER

Sponsored by City of South Perth
Connect Five by Sheryn Binks
Don’t You Forget by Jake and the Cowboys
Relationshipdenial by Bastians Happy Flight
Sing It by The Ghost Hotel
Sleigh Bed by Rainy Day Women WINNER

Sponsored by Hertz
Brighter Than You Feel by Jonny Taylor
Colour Me Real by Reverend And The Deathbed Conversions
Dreams by Jude Iddison
Heart of a Lion by Codie Sundstrom WINNER
Need A Little Love by David Taylor and The Groove Unit

Sponsored by APRA | AMCOS
7 by The Shallows
Charlatan by Harlequin League
Nothing Left To Prove by Patient Little Sister
Ordinary by Husband WINNER
Take Me Home by The Ghost Hotel

Schools – 14 Years & Under
Sponsored by AMEB
Fly by Sophie Costello
Inside and Out by Lucinda Nicholls WINNER
Please by Zoe Roberts
Sinking Ships by Brittany Freeman
We Shall Not Fall by Splinta

Schools – 15 to 17 Years
Sponsored by City of Wanneroo
Apple & The Worm by Brayden Sibbald
Bumpy Ride by Jennifer Renee Hannam
I Think I’ve Got You by Morgan Bain WINNER
Megalomaniac by Codie Sundstrom
Somebody Else by Julia Nicholls

Urban / Hip Hop
Sponsored by Headspace
Affirm Your Masculinity by Andrew Horabin
High Life by Slackjaw
Jobbed by FG featuring Wisdom2th
The Ego-dystonic Blues by FG WINNER
Worldstop by FG

World / Folk
Sponsored by Fairbridge Festival
Afro Sega by Grace Barbé Afro-Kreol
Isfahan by Daramad
Jump by Spoonful of Sugar
Mother’s Petunias by Brayden Sibbald WINNER
Old Brown Piano by Rachel & Henry Climb a Hill


Category: News

About the Author ()

Editor, 100% ROCK MAGAZINE

Leave a Reply

Please verify you\'re a real person: * Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

banner ad
banner ad