banner ad
banner ad
banner ad


| 18 November 2021 | Reply

Label: Independent

Release Date: October 29, 2021

Rating: 92%

Reviewer: Todd “Toddstar” Jolicoeur

Sometimes a pop-flavored 5-track soundtrack is exactly what is needed to pass some time and help with the workflow.  The latest release from Hadley Kennary is a perfect example of that ‘just under 20 minute’ slice of goodness.  Disc opener “Orbit” kicks things of with a pop-filled groove that allows you to dig into the vocal and enjoy it for what it is.  The song has nuances that grab you and keep you engaged throughout the track.  The instrumentation is cool and serves as a perfect counterpart to Kennary’s voice.  Title track “Crooked Roots” has a great musical intro that lulls you while setting you up for the vocal and lyric.  The emotional delivery drives home the importance of the track and its message.  Hadley keeps things moving without getting to heavy, especially when her upper register drives the chorus.  “Possession Of Pain” is different sonically with some cool sounds and a thicker bass line that wraps itself around the track through the verse and holds its ground into the chorus, which seems to explode as the vocals are dialed up a notch and the rest of the band jumps into the fray.  The contagious feel of the chorus creates a fun groove contrary to the message of the lyrics.  “Everything Hurts” is another pop-filled gem that swirls the different textures of guitars, bass, drums, and keys together to create a musical landscape for Kennary to drape her vocals across.  This is another catchy tune that begs you to sing along time after time.  I have caught myself a couple times humming this track hours after listening to it.  Disc closer “Love Like That” is my personal favorite of the collection, as it has a different texture to it without deviating from the path cut by the other tracks.  The slight vibrato in Hadley’s voice on the verse adds depth while the power she pushes through the chorus takes this track to a different level without being overdone.  If this is any indicator, I cannot wait to see what happens when she pulls together more material and weaves together more than a handful of tracks.

Tracklisting: Orbit – Crooked Roots – Possession Of Pain – Everything Hurts – Love Like That

Lineup: Hadley Kennary (vocals) – Jake Finch (drums) – Austin Webb (guitars) – Andrew Brown (bass) – Dylan Jones (keys) – Collin Pastore (pedal steel)







Category: CD Reviews

About the Author ()

ToddStar - that's me... just a rocking accountant who had dreams of being a rock star. I get to do the next best thing to rocking the globe - I get to take pictures of the lucky ones that do. I love to shoot all genres of music and different types of performers. If it is related to music, I love to photograph it. I get to shoot and hang with not only some of my friends and idols, but some of the coolest people around today.

Leave a Reply

Please verify you\'re a real person: * Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

banner ad
banner ad