banner ad
banner ad
banner ad

Last chance to enter Western Australia’s WAM Song Of The Year, as more judges announced (including 100% ROCK MAGAZINE’s own Shane Pinnegar!)

| 25 January 2016 | Reply

Last chance to enter Western Australia’s WAM Song Of The Year, as more judges announced (including 100% ROCK MAGAZINE’s own Shane Pinnegar!)

THIS Thursday 28 January 11AM is strictly your last chance to enter the WAM Song Of The Year competition! Championing both new and established WA music, the #WAMSOTY comp has over $40,000 worth of prizes on offer to WA songwriters of all ages, levels and genres, and we’re excited your music will now be heard by even more judges.

WAM song of the year 2016

With some of the highest profile industry experts ever assembled to assess WAM Song Of The Year entries; judges this year come from all over the world (from the USA to the east coast and WA). Joining the likes of previously announced representatives from RRR, FBi Radio, 4ZZZ, Live Music Office, Mudhoney, Music Row Voice, Maric Media, Earache Records, we’re pleased to announce a second round of judges, including music directors, heads and representatives from the likes of triple j, Inertia, Spinning Top Music (the label behind Tame Impala, POND etc), The West Australian, Branded, triple j Unearthed, BIGSOUND, Music Matters (Singapore), The A&R Department, Sunset Events, Sweet Mate Promotions, Central Institute of Technology, local blues legend Dave Hole and more, as below.


Adam Christou (RTRFM)
Adam Trainer (State Library of Western Australia, Music Researcher, Academic)
Adam Weston (Birds of Tokyo, Firestarter Music – QLD)
Al Dawson (Earache Records – USA)
Alex Griffin (RTRFM)
Andrew Fuller (My – VIC)
Andrew Lawson (Debaser)
Andrew Pring (Fremantle Blues and Roots Club)
Anna Laverty (Producer – VIC)
Anthony Jackson (X-Press Magazine)
Ashryn Romaro (Ex-Fasterlouder)
Blake Williams (Mix94.5)
Bob Gordon (X-Press Magazine)
Chris Cobcroft (4ZZZ – QLD)
Chris Maric (Maric Media – NSW)
Chris Havercroft (X-Press Magazine, Showbag)
Chris Wheeldon (RTRFM)
Christina Ballico (Music Researcher, Academic)
Clive Hodson (Perfect Pitch Publishing – NSW)
Damian Cunningham (Live Music Office – NSW)
Dani Marsland (Pilerats, RTRFM)
Daniel Cribb (
Dave Hole
Dave Ruby-Howe (triple j Unearthed)
David Redding (RTRFM)
David Walker (Festival of Asian Music and Dance)
Elicia Petite (Pirate 88 FM)
Emily Urquhart (Rock Scholars)
Garth Carwardine (Spinning Top Music)
Geoff Walden (Australian Institute of Country Music)
Greg Sanders (Gun Fever Music)
Guy Maddison (Mudhoney, Lubricated Goat – USA)
Holly Doll (RTRFM)
Jacob Snell (Monster Management)
Janelle Morse (Morse Code Communications)
Jacques Prouvost (Jazzques)
Janine Le Clair (Music Row Voice – USA)
Janis Cullen (Lunchbox Allstars)
Jasmine Danks (Danger Cabaret)
Jessica Willoughby (RTRFM)
Jessie Miller (Sunset Events)
Joel Quartermain (Eskimo Joe)
John Wardle (Live Music Office)
Justin Elwin (Kit Pop, HWLS)
Kane Sutton ( Magazine)
Ken Young (Producer, Songwriter)
Kylie Thompson (Sorrento Strategic Accounting)
Lance Robinson (The A&R Department)
Laurent Shervington (Rotunda Media)
Lukas Murphy (
Luke Rinaldi (Sweet Mate Promotions)
Mace Francis (Mace Francis Orchestra)
Maggie Collins (triple j, BIGSOUND, Fans Creative Management)
Matthew De La Hunty (CIT)
Matthew Tomich (RTRFM)
Mike O’Hanlon (Hipflask)
Min Stokes (Minovation)
Minky Gardner (Minky G)
Nick Sas (The West Australian)
Paul Harding (Pendulum – UK)
Pete Jeavons (Jazzwa)
Phaedra Watts (Nannup Music Fest)
Phoebe Corke (Phoebe Corke Management)
Rob Nassif (The Hen House Rehearsal Studios, Gyroscope)
Russell Hopkinson (You Am I – NSW)
Sammy Shirra-Moore (Branded)
Sam Scherr (APRA AMCOS)
Sarah Norton (RTRFM, Gold Suns, Petticoat Junkyard)
Scott Adam (CIT)
Shane Pinnegar (100% Rock Magazine)
Simon Collins (The West Australian)
Simon O’Leary (HyperFest – City of Swan)
Simon Winkler (Triple R – VIC)
Stephen Goodhew (FBi Radio – NSW)
Susan Cotchin (International Royalties Rescue (IRR) – VIC/UK)
Tash Edge (The Music)
Tim Kelly (Inertia)
Tony King (Great Southern Institute of Technology)
Tracey Devery (CIT)
Troy Mutton (Pilerats)
Vanessa Phillips (RTFM, DJ Veeness)
Yvette Myhill (Association of Artist Managers (AAM) – NSW)

There are 16 categories, each offering winners a cash prize, studio time with WA’s best and more. And if you win a category then you’ll also have the chance to be crowned this year’s Song Of The Year Grand Prize winner, walking away with a huge prize package including: $3,000 cash; recording time at the hit-making Albert Studios in Sydney; the opportunity for a Publishing and sync licensing deal with Perfect Pitch Publishing, plus an online tutorial in publishing and licensing plus, ongoing industry mentoring; two days recording at Sonic Lolly; one online Berklee music course of your choice; 500 jewel case CDs pressed for free plus one year’s digital distribution service for an album from Diskbank; Music National Media Servicing campaign for single or release through Firestarter; AF140 In-Ear Monitors from Audiofly; the opportunity to perform at the WA Music Award-nominated State Of The Art Festival in 2016; and a guaranteed prime spot on the 2016 WAM Festival line-up.

Full list of announced partners here

and studio sponsors here

There are 16 categories, covering all genres including Blues / Roots, Country, Electronic, Experimental, Folk, Jazz, Metal / Heavy, Punk / Hardcore, Pop, Rock, Urban / Hip Hop and World, plus extra categories for Schools (14 Years & Under), Schools (15-17), Outstanding Indigenous and Outstanding Regional. Each category winner takes away a cash prize and free recording studio time with 16 of WA’s best studios.

A reminder also that your song doesn’t need to be professionally recorded – it can be an unreleased song or demo that you’re hoping to have professionally recorded. As long as it’s a great song then it’s in with a chance to win. And with so much on offer for WA-based songwriters, there’s really no better way to get career-propelling recognition and prizes for your songs than to enter this year’s WAM Song Of The Year!



Category: News

About the Author ()

Editor, 100% ROCK MAGAZINE

Leave a Reply

Please verify you\'re a real person: * Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

banner ad
banner ad