banner ad
banner ad
banner ad


| 7 April 2015 | Reply


WAM Song Of The Year

Picking up three WA Music Awards late last year, the swift rise of future-oriented poptronica artist KUČKA has continued, on Saturday being awarded the Grand Prize for her song Unconditional at the annual WAM Song Of The Year Awards Party, after earlier in the night securing a win in the Electronic category.

Other winners include Chaos Divine, Rag n’ Bone, Morgan Bain and Ruby Boots. All category winners and nominees are listed below.

Judged by a high-profile panel of independent industry heavyweights, including Grand Prize judges Adam Christou (Music Director RTRFM), Bob Gordon (Editor X-Press Mag); Clive Hodson (Perfect Pitch Publishing, NSW), Dan Cribb (WA Editor The Music), Gemma Pike (Triple J, NSW), Joel Quartermain (Eskimo Joe/Wastelands Studio), John Bissell (Music Supervisor Mothlight Music, LA), Jordan Campbell (Booking Agent The Harbour Agency, NSW) and Stephen Goodhew (Music Director FBI Radio, NSW), the list of winners makes for a fascinating snapshot of WA music.

Covering 16 diverse categories, the winning songs reflect the extraordinary depth and breadth of WA songwriting talent, featuring a mix of established leaders in their respective genres plus revealing exciting discoveries and hot tips for artists with big futures. Collectively, the category winners have already achieved the following: winning numerous WA Music Awards and previous Song Of The Year category awards; topping iTunes charts; being finalists in the International Songwriting Competition; being nominated for a Deadly award; and dominating triple j and Unearthed airwaves (including Unearthed’s 2014 #1 Most Played track in Australia); plus many have fresh releases or new ones dropping very shortly. Yet for many category winners, their Song Of The Year win is no doubt the first of many accolades to come.

WAM CEO Mike Harris commented, “WAM’s Song Of The Year competition is a standout event on WA’s music calendar, recognising the best songs and songwriters from the previous year. Judged independently by the music industry, the range and quality of submissions this year is a terrific testament to the depth and diversity of WA music, with results in many of the categories very tight. Congratulations to the winners and those that came so close. Thanks also to Song Of The Year’s key presenting partners RAC, Alberts, APRA I AMCOS and City Of Fremantle, plus the category and studio sponsors, for helping champion WA music so finely.”

As the 2014 Grand Prize Winner, KUČKA walks away with $3,000 cash, recording time at the hit-making Albert Studios in Sydney, the opportunity for a publishing deal with Perfect Pitch Publishing, two days recording at Sonic Lolly, mastering provided by William Bowden of King Willy Sound (Grammy award recipient for mastering Goyte’s Somebody That I Used to Know), a BerkleeOnline music course, 500 CDs pressed by DiskBank, a RØDE Microphones package, plus more.

The Awards Party was hosted by Perth funnyman Alex Manfrin in front of a full house of nominees, fans, sponsors, industry VIPs and music lovers, transforming the B Shed warehouse in Fremantle into a party platform to revel in the creation and performance of exceptional homegrown music. The packed, mixed crowd of acts, industry and music lovers were treated to outstanding live performances by category winners Methyl Ethel (Pop) and Grace Barbé (World), plus Lilt and DJ John Safari kept the party going til late, signaling a new benchmark of quality for the event.


Sponsored by Clancy’s Fremantle I Studio sponsor Shanghai Twang
Morgan Bain Hold On Winner
Mister and Sunbird 7 Years Bad Luck
Jordan McRobbie A World to See
Katie J White Gypsie
Matt Gresham Whiskey

Sponsored by Country Music Club of Boyup Brook I Studio sponsor Rada Studios
Ruby Boots Wrap Me In A Fever Winner
Codee-Lee Ain’t Got Time For That
Davey Craddock & The Spectacles Better Alone
Jason Norris/The Stirling Rangers If I Should Be Gone In The Morning
Ruby Boots Ruby Blue

Sponsored by Perfect Pitch Publishing I Studio sponsor Fremantle Records
KUČKA Unconditional Winner
Lower Spectrum Khlever
Gravy Murphy Mumps
KUČKA Divinity

Sponsored by Newport Hotel I Studio sponsor Soundbaker
Intenso Band Earthquake Winner
Tobacco Rat Caged Plant
Parnell March New Science
KUČKA Recovery
Josten Myburgh Treant / First Place

Sponsored by The Mustang Bar I Studio sponsor Sonic Lolly
Winter’s Mile Tell My Lover Winner
Rachel Gorman To Have & To Hold
Curtis McEntee I Was Made For Loving You
Mister and Sunbird My Baby Must Be Blind
The Justin Walshe Folk Machine Willshire

Sponsored by Diskbank I Studio sponsor Sovereign Studios
Chaos Divine Soldiers Winner
Ragdoll Here Today
Let’s Kill Uncle Memento
Beyond Never One Thousand Years
All This Filth Programmed To Suffer

Sponsored by The Ellington Jazz Club & Perth Jazz Society I Studio sponsor Poons Head
Trisk Charon Winner
Mace Francis Orchestra Corio Landscape
Lofty Heights Ja Boyia
Luke Minness The Wright Influence
Trisk Commodity

Sponsored by Nannup Music Festival I Studio sponsor Blackbird Studios
The Merindas Ready To Love Winner
Bryron Pickett Beautiful Memories
Kimberley Carlson Waiting
Yolande Yarran Little Old Quairading Town
Kimberley Carlson Coming Home

Sponsored by Hertz I Studio sponsor Underground Studios
Katie J White Gypsie
Codee-Lee Ain’t Got Time For That Winner
Harry Jakamarra The Captain Goes Down
Shenfield Vagabond
Junior Bowles World I Owe

Sponsored by 96fm I Studio sponsor Debaser Studios
Methyl Ethel Rogues Winner
Felicity Groom Better Days
The Revelationship Rocket Boy
KUČKA Unconditional
The Autumn Isles Waking Dreams

Sponsored by SAE Institute I Studio sponsor Sumo Sound
Rag n’ Bone Wood & Wire Winner
The Caballeros Another Day
The Decline Cool Kids Can’t Die
Scalphunter There Will Be Change
The Bob Gordons Too Drunk

Sponsored by City of Fremantle I Studio sponsor The Wasteland
Tired Lion I Don’t Think You Like Me Winner
The Disappointed I Disagree With Myself
Husband Caught
Rag n’ Bone Wood & Wire
The Disappointed Weird Peace

Sponsored by Concept Music I Studio sponsor Electric City Studios
Charlotte Viney Hurricane Winner
Ruth Burke Hiding
Claudia Tero I’m Afraid
Identified Just Don’t Say It
Charlotte Viney Only Thing I Need

SCHOOLS 15 – 17
Sponsored by RAC I Studio sponsor Gibsonic
Mike Waller Seasons Winner
Sydnee Carter Life Raft
Stella Kelly Skin
Evanda and Luchii This Is Life
Teischa Trick Of The Light

Sponsored by APRA AMCOS I Studio sponsor Tone City
Coin Banks Someone Winner
Sid Pattni Go Back Home FT. Meg Mac
Coin Banks Highs And Lows
Sarah Pellicano Playing With Fire (feat. Roc Walla)
Marksman Lloyd You Won’t Be The One (feat. Whisky Winter)

Sponsored by Fairbridge Festival I Studio sponsor Crank Studios
Grace Barbé Fatige Winner
Tara Tiba A Persian Dream
Alon Shimon Shai-Kaspi Megilat Hefker (No Man’s Scroll)
Ensemble Formidable Swing Swang Swung
Grace Barbé Zis Nou De

Category: News

About the Author ()

Editor, 100% ROCK MAGAZINE

Leave a Reply

Please verify you\'re a real person: * Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

banner ad
banner ad