banner ad
banner ad
banner ad

“Bad Things” Singer-Songwriter Jace Everett Gets Biblical On New Album “Terra Rosa”

| 24 June 2013 | Reply


Haywood Group Productions has announced the release of Terra Rosa, the extraordinary new album from Jace Everett. The album, distributed from Redeye Distribution, will be available on the iTunes Stores and all digital providers on July 23 and the CD/LP version will be available in stores on October 29.

Terra Rosa is Everett’s most ambitious album to date, a raucous, revelatory song cycle exploring tales and themes from the Old and New Testaments (see tracklisting below). The Nashville-based singer/songwriter deconstructs and reimagines the Book through his own unique perspective, examining matters of love, death, faith, and contemporary America via these most primal of metaphors. There are allusions to such Biblical greatest hits as Sodom & Gomorrah, Jonah and the Whale, and Peter the Rock, alongside deep cuts like “Sapphira,” a righteous romp through trials, tithing, and divine judgment. Songs like “No Place To Hide” see a musical approach as daring and wide-ranging as his subject demands, a hallucinatory hybrid of blues, country, boogie, gospel, and rock – in short, the span and spectrum of American music in all its glory.

Recorded last year in Nashville alongside such longtime collaborators as co-producer Brad Jones (Josh Rouse, Hayes Carll, Chuck Prophet) and multi-instrumentalist/songwriter Dan Cohen, Terra Rosa is at heart an intensely intimate album, its invention and irreverence all reflecting Everett’s own struggles with sin and spirit.

“The truth is, all these songs are about me,” he says, “trying to figure out what I believe and don’t believe. It’s me going back to my closet and pulling all the skeletons out, looking at the bones and seeing what’s there.”

Jace Everett has long earned acclaim for his remarkable artistic range and always-impressive songwriting. Born in Evansville, Indiana and raised in Grapevine, Texas, he eventually made his way to Music City USA and scored his first #1 co-writing Josh Turner’s RIAA platinum certified 2006 country smash, “Your Man.” Everett officially became an overnight sensation two years later when “Bad Things” – the spooky, sultry highlight of his self-titled 2006 debut album – was featured as theme song to HBO’s blockbuster series, True Blood. “Bad Things” proved a worldwide hit single, as well as a multiple BMI Television Music Award winner, and helped propel the show to its extraordinary long-running success. Everett continues to grow his gritty, groovy sound with frequent international tours, raising up a fervent fan following at every turn.


  1. In The Garden
  2. No Place To Hide
  3. Lloyd’s Summer Vacation
  4. Beyond The Wall
  5. Pennsylvania
  6. The Great Fish
  7. Rise Up
  8. Love Cut Me Down
  9. Like A Song
  10. Sapphira
  11. Pretty Good Plan

Category: Articles

About the Author ()

ToddStar - that's me... just a rocking accountant who had dreams of being a rock star. I get to do the next best thing to rocking the globe - I get to take pictures of the lucky ones that do. I love to shoot all genres of music and different types of performers. If it is related to music, I love to photograph it. I get to shoot and hang with not only some of my friends and idols, but some of the coolest people around today.

Leave a Reply

Please verify you\'re a real person: * Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

banner ad
banner ad