banner ad
banner ad
banner ad

ELECTRIC LIGHT ORCHESTRA – Zoom (Reissue) and Live (Reissue)



Label: Frontiers Records

Release Date: April 23, 2013

Rating: 9/10

Reviewed by: ToddStar

There are some albums that need to be reissued with new packaging and extra tracks.  These two discs from Electric Light Orchestra are two such albums.  These two have been reissued by Frontiers Records and are welcome additions to my collection.  I forgot how great these sounded back when I had them previously.

On Zoom, the songs are timeless and quality – there may not be a ton of the ELO hits from their catalog on it, but this disc is solid from opening song to closer, and made a little better with the addition of two bonus tracks.  Jeff Lynne pulled out all the stops on this disc, getting both George Harrison and Ringo Starr to play on the album.  Too bad he couldn’t get them on the same track, but that is a personal observation.  The songs are well written and very polished, as was the modus operandi of the band back in the day.  This album seemed less electronic than a lot of the discs in the bands catalog.    This disc helps demonstrate that not everything ELO put out was radio accessible and generated to be a hit.  This helps flex the musical skills of Lynne, who wrote and produced all the songs on this great collection.  I still love to hear the opener “Alright” and the fun groove of  “State of Mind” coming through the speakers.  “Easy Money” and “All She Wanted” are still personal favorites as well.

Tracklist: Alright – Moment In Paradise – State of Mind – Just For Love – Stranger On A Quiet Street – In My Own Time – Easy Money – It Really Doesn’t Matter – Ordinary Dream – A Long Time Gone – Melting In The Sun – All She Wanted – Lonesome Lullaby – BONUS TRACKS: One Day (previously unreleased from 2004) – Turn To Stone (Live From CBS Television City 2001)

Normally I am not a big fan of live collections, but this one stands out because it took Lynne out of his comfort zone – the studio.  He assembled a great band to take out on tour to support the Zoom album, although none of the tracks from that disc made the live disc.  Fans of the band and classic rock will be familiar with most of the tracks here, and should be quite pleased with the tracks, as they do not deviate greatly from the originals.  At the end, we are treated to two previously unreleased tracks recorded 18 years apart.  They show not only growth, but also consistency in the song writing and performance.

Tracklist: Evil Woman – Showdown – Secret Messages – Livin’ Thing – Sweet Talkin’ Woman – Mr. Blue Sky – Can’t Get You Out Of My Head – Twilight – Confusion – Don’t Bring Me Down – Roll Over Beethoven – BONUS TRACKS: Out Of Luck (previously unreleased from 2010) – Cold Feet (previously unreleased from 1992)

Category: CD Reviews

About the Author ()

ToddStar - that's me... just a rocking accountant who had dreams of being a rock star. I get to do the next best thing to rocking the globe - I get to take pictures of the lucky ones that do. I love to shoot all genres of music and different types of performers. If it is related to music, I love to photograph it. I get to shoot and hang with not only some of my friends and idols, but some of the coolest people around today.

Leave a Reply

Please verify you\'re a real person: * Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

banner ad
banner ad