banner ad
banner ad
banner ad

NEWS: RAINBOW “Monsters Of Rock – Live At Donington 1980” DVD+CD Set Out April 22, 2016

| 9 March 2016 | Reply


New York, NY (March 8, 2016)—The date was Saturday August 16,1980. Rainbow took to the stage to headline the first rock festival ever staged at Castle Donington – a concert that would inevitably be the last live show featuring the line-up of Ritchie Blackmore (guitars),Don Airey (keyboards), Graham Bonnet (vocals), Roger Glover (bass) and Cozy Powell (drums).

On April 22, 2016, Eagle Rock Entertainment will release this very concert — Monsters Of Rock – Live At Donington 1980 as a DVD + CD set and via digital formats [MSRP $19.98].

Monsters of Rock contains all the surviving footage of this concert, and marks the first time that the audio from the show has been available as a full-length standalone CD.

This show was the culmination of Rainbow’s tour in support of the hugely successful 1979 album Down To Earth. Featuring new tracks alongside classics from earlier in their career, the set includes “Since You Been Gone,” “All Night Long,” “Stargazer,” “Long Live Rock ‘n’ Roll,” “Catch The Rainbow,” “Eyes Of The World,” and more. Punctuated with virtuoso solo spots which allow Blackmore, Airey, and Powell to shine, Monsters of Rock highlights the sheer musical prowess in the band. The show climaxes with Blackmore destroying his guitar and thrusting it into an amp which promptly bursts into flames before fireworks burst overhead, concluding a truly explosive show.

Rainbow is a legendary rock band in every sense of the word, and Monsters Of Rock – Live At Donington 1980 captures an incendiary performance at a significant point in the band’s career.

Click here to view a video clip of “All Night Long”:

Eagle Rock Entertainment is the world’s largest producer and distributor of music programming for TV, DVD, Blu-Ray and Digital Media. Eagle produces quality HD programs, both concerts and documentaries, directly alongside artists including Imagine Dragons, Paul McCartney, Katy Perry, The Rolling Stones, Pink Floyd, The Who, Queen, and Peter Gabriel. Eagle is a multiple Grammy® Award winner and has received numerous multi-platinum sales awards around the world.  Eagle Vision is headquartered in London, and is a Universal Music Group company.

Follow Eagle Rock Entertainment at:



  1. Lazy
  2. All Night Long
  3. Catch The Rainbow
  4. Eyes Of The World
  5. Guitar Solo
  6. Difficult To Cure
  7. Will You Love Me Tomorrow
  8. Long Live Rock ‘n’ Roll


  1. Intro / Eyes Of The World
  2. Since You Been Gone
  3. Stargazer
  4. Catch The Rainbow
  5. Lost In Hollywood / Guitar Solo
  6. Difficult To Cure / Keyboard Solo
  7. Drum Solo / Lost In Hollywood (reprise)
  8. Lazy
  9. All Night Long
  10. Blues
  11. Will You Love Me Tomorrow
  12. Long Live Rock ‘n’ Roll

Category: Articles

About the Author ()

ToddStar - that's me... just a rocking accountant who had dreams of being a rock star. I get to do the next best thing to rocking the globe - I get to take pictures of the lucky ones that do. I love to shoot all genres of music and different types of performers. If it is related to music, I love to photograph it. I get to shoot and hang with not only some of my friends and idols, but some of the coolest people around today.

Leave a Reply

Please verify you\'re a real person: * Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

banner ad
banner ad