banner ad
banner ad
banner ad


| 13 September 2013 | Reply



Modern rock favorite THOUSAND FOOT KRUTCH will release its first hits compilation, Made In Canada: The 1998-2010 Collection, October 15 from Tooth & Nail Records.  Following the breakout success of the band’s current independently released, No. 1 selling Billboard Hard Rock studio album, The End Is Where We Begin, the new collection underscores the past hits that helped build this band into one of today’s most successful rock trios.  The compilation features such fan favorites as “Rawkfist,” “Move,” “Fire It Up,” “Phenomenon,” “Falls Apart,” “Bring Me To Life” and six more, plus two never before released tracks, “Complicate You” and “Searchlight.”

Although written during the time period that the current studio album and its highly acclaimed predecessor, Welcome to the Masquerade, were recorded, “Complicate You” and “Searchlight” were recorded for the first time this summer.

“These are both songs that we loved, but they didn’t quite fit the body of the last two records,” explains Thousand Foot Krutch frontman, Trevor McNevan.  “We thought it was only fitting to record them and include them in this compilation.  They are NOT an indication of what the new studio album we are working on will sound like, or a window into what’s next, but they’re new additions to the records we made during this time. They’re both a step outside the box a little for TFK as well, so we thought it would be fun to share them!”

Recorded at Blank Book Studios, and Teerawk Music Studios in Nashville, TN, The Drawing Room Studios in Windsor, ON, Canada, and Stringnoize Studios in Grimsby, ON, Canada, “Complicate You” and “Searchlight” were produced and engineered by Aaron Sprinkle and McNevan and mastered by Brian Lucey at Magic Garden Mastering with additional engineering by TFK members Steve Augustine (drums) and Joel Bruyere (bass).  “Searchlight” was mixed by Sam Gibson while “Complicate You” was mixed by J.R. McNeely.

“‘Complicate You’ has more of a heavy funk feel to it, which we loved,” says McNevan.  “It’s more of a fun, feel good song about meeting someone that completely catches you off guard (in a good way).  It’s about a guy/girl randomly meeting for the first time, and captures those same quirky feelings you get when that happens. I thought it was an honest and funny perspective on that.

“‘Searchlight’ is about those times in our lives when we feel like a small ship in a big sea, surrounded by crashing waves and looking for solid ground,” continues McNevan.  “It felt like a unique way to say, ‘God, I need you so bad right now, I feel like I’m sinking!’ It’s an S.O.S.”

The full track listing for Made In Canada: The 1998-2010 Collection follows:

  1. Phenomenon
  2. Move
  3. Fire It Up
  4. Rawkfist
  5. This Is A Call
  6. Falls Apart
  7. What Do We Know
  8. The Flame in All of Us
  9. Bring Me To Life
  10. Breathe You In
  11. Last Words
  12. Welcome To the Masquerade
  13. Searchlight (NEW RECORDING)
  14. Complicate You (NEW RECORDING)


As the band prepares to release its first hits collection, TFK will be performing songs from Made In Canada at Monster  Energy’s Aftershock Festival (Sacramento, 9/15), Rock The Border (Lloydminster, SK 9/21), Rock The River (Ottawa, 9/28) and more before hitting 11 major market arenas across the Western U.S. beginning Nov. 8 in Los Angeles’ Ontario’s Citizens Business Bank Arena with the Winter Jam 2013 Tour Spectacular.


While on tour, TFK will also light up stages with its Top 40 Active Rock tracks “War Of Change” and “Let The Sparks Fly” from The End Is Where We Begin, as well as it’s third Active Rock hit from the album, “Light Up The Sky.” This latter song debuted last month in the Top 30 (No. 28) on the Mainstream Rock chart and continues to gain plays at radio outlets like Sirius XM Octane, WRIF (Detroit), WXTB (Tampa Bay), KBPI (Denver), WJRR (Orlando), WAAF (Boston), WJJO (Madison, WI), WXNR (Greenville, NC), WIIL (Kenosha, WI), WKRL (Syracuse, NY), CIMX (Windsor, ON), KIWR (Omaha, NE), KIBZ-FM (Lincoln, NE), WHXR (Portland, ME), WZZO (Allentown, PA), KFLY (Corvallis, OR) and more.


Receiving over 1,900, 5-star average customer reviews on iTunes® alone for The End Is Where We Begin, TFK has found that sometimes the best way to move forward is to go back to the basics, taking all of the raw energy and emotion of the past and channeling it into the present.   For those who’ve been following the Ontario, Canada-bred players since their formation in 1997, it’s been a continuously escalating highlight reel that includes best-selling albums, top Active Rock radio hits (including the aforementioned songs, plus the Made In Canada tracks “Fire It Up,” “Move” and “Phenomenon”), and a slew of soundtrack slots. In fact, the group has literally infiltrated every facet of pop culture, from ongoing ESPN appearances, to various NASCAR, MLB, NHL, WWE, NCAA and NFL airings (including the 2010 Super Bowl and Tennessee Titans’ 2012-13“kickoff” song), along with the “GI Joe” movie trailer, WGN-TV’s “Smallville” and EA Sports’ NHL 2010 and 2013 video games.


All the latest tour dates and additional band information can be found at:

Category: News

About the Author ()

ToddStar - that's me... just a rocking accountant who had dreams of being a rock star. I get to do the next best thing to rocking the globe - I get to take pictures of the lucky ones that do. I love to shoot all genres of music and different types of performers. If it is related to music, I love to photograph it. I get to shoot and hang with not only some of my friends and idols, but some of the coolest people around today.

Leave a Reply

Please verify you\'re a real person: * Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

banner ad
banner ad