banner ad
banner ad
banner ad

U.D.O. – Mean Machine and Timebomb Anniversary Editions

| 12 February 2013 | Reply


Label: AFM Records

Release Date: February 12, 2013

Rating: 8.5/10 – (both are really good discs that warrant the same score)

Reviewed by: ToddStar

Every once in a while old albums are given a face lift and reissued for various reasons.  Having been a big fan of Accept, I of course knew who UDO was, but never really gave his solo career the full consideration it deserved.  These discs are exactly what one would expect from the original vocalist of “Balls To The Wall.”  Listening through both of these discs, I am reminded of some of the things that made metal great in the 1980’s and early 1990’s.  The music is great, with the vocals stamping UDO’s attitude and personality all over the discs while allowing his band to share in the fun and spotlight.  The guitars and the accompanying solos from Mathias Dieth and Andy Susemihl (featured only on Mean Machine) are crunchy, pinging, soaring and searing.  The bass from Thomas Smuszynski is rhythmic and helps anchor the sound.  Stefan Schwarzmann pounds the skins and keeps time on these disc like a beast.  These are great discs if you love UDO, anything he has recorded solo or in a band, or are just a big fan on 80’s metal that didn’t feature hairspray and eye liner.


Mean Machine, UDO’s second solo disc is being reissued with its tracklisting, artwork, and liner notes, with the exception of the bonus track “Break The Rules (Live)” and the video for “Break The Rules.”

Tracklist: Don’t Look Back – Break The Rules – We’re History – Painted Love – Mean Machine – Dirty Boys – Streets On Fire – Lost Passion – Sweet Little Child – Catch My Fall – Still In Love With You – Break The Rules (Live) – Break The Rules (Video)


Timebomb, Udo’s fourth solo disc, and last before an Accept reunion that lasted three albums and six years.  This anniversary reissue see the original treatment with the addition of “Metal Eater (Live) and the albums electronic press kit in video format at the end of the disc.

Tracklist: The Gutter – Metal Eater – Thunderforce – Overloaded – Burning Heat – Back In Pain – Timebomb – Powersquad – Kick In The Face – Soldiers Of Darkness – Metal Maniac Master Mind – Metal Eater (Live) – Album EPK

Category: CD Reviews

About the Author ()

ToddStar - that's me... just a rocking accountant who had dreams of being a rock star. I get to do the next best thing to rocking the globe - I get to take pictures of the lucky ones that do. I love to shoot all genres of music and different types of performers. If it is related to music, I love to photograph it. I get to shoot and hang with not only some of my friends and idols, but some of the coolest people around today.

Leave a Reply

Please verify you\'re a real person: * Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

banner ad
banner ad