banner ad
banner ad
banner ad


| 21 February 2013 | Reply


Lancaster County, Pennsylvania’s BLACK COWGIRL will see the North American release of their self-titled double ep released via Restricted Release on May 14.  The 11-song recording was produced by the band with mixing and recording by Rich Gavalis.  The national release of Black Cowgirl has been expanded to include lyrics previously unavailable on the version of the album sold at live performances and the band’s official webstore.  It showcases the unique illustration work of Adrian Brouch.

“Here is truly a 120-proof bottle of the finest blend of traditional rock, grunge, and grooves to escape this hilly Pennsylvania terrain,” says Heavy Planet.   “If you want riffs, this album has got it in spades,” adds Sludgelord.  BLACK COWGIRL recently performed at West Chester’s The Note alongside England’s Viking Skull.  It was the UK rocker’s final show.  BLACK COWGIRL vocalist/guitarist Ben McGuire shares, “the Viking Skull guys have always been great to us.  It is a shame it was their last show. We played our first show with them a couple years ago and were honored to play their last, though I won’t be surprised if they come back from the grave down the road.”

Black Cowgirl will also include a recently recorded cover of “I’m Not Awake Yet” by Rory Gallagher.  One of the late Irish singer/guitarist’s most popular songs, it is a tough one for any band to tackle.  “I’m Not Awake Yet” is one of our favorite Rory Gallagher songs,” notes McGuire.  “We talked about recording it for a while because we felt like it fit in with our other songs pretty well.  We are all big fans of his mellow songs that are often overshadowed by his blues rock songs.  There is just something about the sad, desperate, lonely feeling he captures in some of his low key songs that strikes a chord with what we are trying to do.”

Originally conceived as a one-man instrumental project by McGuire, BLACK COWGIRL‘s current incarnation took shape in 2008.  Guitarist Nathan Rosenzweig, bassist Chris Casse, and drummer Mark Hanna with McGuire initially united their talents to record six songs.  Recorded quickly, three days in fact, the band immediately set out on tour supporting local heros CKY.  Drummer Jess Margera was immediately impressed by the band.  “BLACK COWGIRL kicks ass,” he says.  “The band combines all the best elements of classic rock, groove rock, and even some prog at times.”  Since that maiden tour, BLACK COWGIRL has shared the stage with Graveyard, The Company Band, Radio Moscow, Karma to Burn, Black Tusk, Monstro, and many others.

Complete track listing for Black Cowgirl is:

1. Talk of Wolves

2. Roadmaster

3. The Ride

4. Alkaline

5. Dead House

6. Eclipsor

7. Weight of Oblivion

8. Three Seasons

9. Solarizer

10. Becoming Nothing

11.Unio Mystica

12. I’m Not Awake Yet

Category: Articles

About the Author ()

ToddStar - that's me... just a rocking accountant who had dreams of being a rock star. I get to do the next best thing to rocking the globe - I get to take pictures of the lucky ones that do. I love to shoot all genres of music and different types of performers. If it is related to music, I love to photograph it. I get to shoot and hang with not only some of my friends and idols, but some of the coolest people around today.

Leave a Reply

Please verify you\'re a real person: * Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

banner ad
banner ad