banner ad
banner ad
banner ad

DIESEL ANNOUNCES SUNSET SUBURBIA TRILOGY + AUSTRALIAN TOUR

| 12 June 2019 | Reply

DIESEL ANNOUNCES SUNSET SUBURBIA TRILOGY + AUSTRALIAN TOUR

Australian hit machine Diesel has today announced the Sunset Suburbia project: a trilogy of EPs leading into an album in 2020. And to coincide with the release of new music, Diesel will hit the road once again this October. With his powerhouse band, Diesel will showcase songs from all three Sunset Suburbia EPs, plus hits and fan favourites spanning 30 years of music making.

Diesel says, “Suburbia has always held a strange fascination for me. I remember designer cul-de-sacs strewn with shotgun shells in Chandler, Arizona; little vignettes of skateboarding around closed service stations on weekends in Perth; some guy in the hot tub in his backyard where I’m riding my bike over the rail overpass in Sydney. I love going into where people live — the sights, the smells, the little repetitive things that make their world. It’s kind of a bittersweet thing but it’s the stuff of life and it has a way of making songs.”

After more than 30 years of recording, Mark Lizotte (Diesel) has found a more direct route from inspiration to revelation.

“I’ve really enjoyed [recording the EPs] as it elongates the recording process, allowing for each EP to take on a uniqueness. I’ve always been a bit bummed when getting to the end of making a record, and this in a way delays gratification, making 3 ‘mini albums’ on the way to an LP. I’m also really excited at the prospect of releasing each one as limited edition signed and numbered 10” vinyl to compliment the tour.”

On Sunset Suburbia (Vol. I) (out 19 July), this union of spontaneity and experience yields four of the most instantly arresting songs of Diesel’s multi-platinum career: the kind of exhilarating FM radio hits that sealed his reputation as a 1990s pop-rock auteur with Hepfidelity, The Lobbyist and Solid State Rhyme.

“There’s a lot of lost innocence in these songs. ‘By The Scars’ is pretty much about one or two years in my teens when a lot of things happened… I lost my virginity, I had two guys with balaclavas point a shotgun at me at a gas station… It’s about the time you basically realise the world isn’t as safe as you thought.”

Vol. I of Sunset Suburbia follows last year’s top-20 retrospective, Diesel 30: a double CD which was led by the FM radio embrace of ‘Give Me Saturday Night’.

The second Sunset Suburbia EP will drop later this year, Vol. III is currently under construction, and an album, featuring even more new songs, is due in 2020. Be sure to catch the evolution of Diesel’s ever-expanding horizon as he and his band roll out Sunset Suburbia to a city, town or suburb near you.

DIESEL SUNSET SUBURBIA TOUR OCTOBER – DECEMBER 2019

Thursday 10 October 20 Years At The Brass Monkey Brass Monkey | Cronulla, NSW
Friday 11 October Central Hotel | Shellharbour, NSW
Saturday 12 October Manly Leagues Club | Manly, NSW
Friday 18 October Entrance Leagues | Bateau Bay, NSW
Saturday 19 October Wingham Akoostic Festival | Wingham Showground | Wingham, NSW
Friday 25 October Gateway Hotel | Geelong, VIC
Saturday 26 October York On Lilydale | Lilydale, VIC
Friday 1 November The Juniors | Kingsford, NSW
Saturday 2 November Hornsby RSL | Hornsby, NSW
Saturday 9 November Bridgetown Blues Festival | Bridgetown, WA
Sunday 10 November 96FM Kickstart Summer Concert w/ Jimmy Barnes Ascot Racetrack | Perth, WA
Friday 15 November The Triffid | Brisbane, QLD
Saturday 16 November Southport RSL | Gold Coast, QLD
Friday 22 November The Gov | Adelaide, SA
Saturday 23 November Get Your Blues On | Renmark Riverfront | Renmark, SA
Friday 29 November Lizottes | Newcastle, NSW
Saturday 30 November Lizottes | Newcastle, NSW
Friday 6 December The Basement | Canberra, ACT
Saturday 7 December Paddington RSL | Paddington, NSW
Friday 13 December Lizottes | Newcastle, NSW
Saturday 14 December Lizottes | Newcastle, NSW

Sunset Suburbia (Vol. I) EP Out Fri 19 July through Bloodlines, featuring:
By The Scars
I’m With A Girl
Coming From You
Wake Up With An Angel

Shane

Category: News

About the Author ()

Editor, 100% ROCK MAGAZINE

Leave a Reply

Please verify you\'re a real person: * Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

banner ad
banner ad

Hit Counter provided by Acrylic Display