banner ad
banner ad
banner ad

BOOK REVIEW: Little Whale by Jo Weaver

| 26 February 2019 | Reply

BOOK REVIEW: Little Whale by Jo Weaver

Hodder Children’s Books
March 2018 
Paperback, $15.99
Reviewed by Steph O’Connell

Picture Book 

6/10

Told through the eyes of a whale and her calf, this mesmerisingly beautiful book is a story of migration, family, the strength of parental love and the wonders of nature.

Little Whale has never seen the cold, rich waters of the north. She and her mother travel from the warm southern ocean, passing coral reefs, kelp forests and shoals of shimmering fish – with her mother guiding her and protecting her all the way home.

With its lyrical storytelling and evocative charcoal drawings shot through with blue, Jo Weaver’s story has the feel of an instant classic, celebrating the tender relationship between parent and child and the majesty of their underwater world. Perfect for fans of BBC’s Blue Planet.

Jo’s previous book, Little One, was longlisted for the Kate Greenaway Medal 2016. Jo Weaver was shortlisted for the AOI Illustration New Talent Awards 2014.

 

The illustrations in this book are stunning, and it’s worth owning for that alone, but the story could have been a little more captivating. As it stands, the blurb is more engaging and evocative than the actual text. 

Nevertheless, this is a gorgeous way to encourage an interest in the natural world and the life cycles of animals, and sure to be a great addition to the collection.

It just would have been nice if it had a little more emotion to it.

 

 

Category: Book Reviews

About the Author ()

Leave a Reply

Please verify you\'re a real person: * Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.


banner ad
banner ad