banner ad
banner ad
banner ad


| 12 November 2015 | Reply


Label: Eleven Seven Music

Release Date: October 30, 2015

Rating: 9/10

Reviewed by: Todd “Toddstar” Jolicoeur

Escape The Fate has moved members in and out over the years, but the current mix just might be the right combination of guys to create the quintessential ETF sound.  Disc opener and lead single “Just A Memory” has the screamo post-hardcore sound longtime fans of the band will appreciate, but with the catchy chorus and bridge, I think they could have been a little more creative to kick off the disc.  “Live for Today” ranks among the bands best songs, going back through their entire catalog, with a killer beat that draws you in.  The chugging guitars and tempo are hypnotic and front man Craig Mabbitt demonstrates his true rock vocals on this song.  “Breaking Me Down” opens with a melancholy mood and some great vocals from Mabbitt, as well as a killer guitar sound from Thomas “TJ” Bell and Kevin “Thrasher” Gruft, especially at the chorus and bridge.  This song was co-written by Jacoby Shaddix and Tobin Esperance from Papa Roach.  “Get Up, Get Out” opens with cool guitar riffs and Mabbitt’s screams, but Robert Ortiz’s drums underneath support the song while the tempo and feel of the track shift at the verse and chorus, which is catchy as hell.  “Les Enfants Terribles (The Terrible Children)” brings the screaming vocals and more intense sound from the bands earlier efforts back to the mix, with more ping and squeal from the guitars than has been typically heard on their releases.  The vocals tie old with new and give this song a cool feel.

Second single “Remember Every Scar” is a more main stream rocker than these guys typically record, but the sound is fresh and suits the mood and direction of the disc, while bringing a poppier sound to the band’s music.  “Alive” brings more of the mainstream modern rock sound to the disc and give the disc a solid anchor.  The songs rhythm and tempo, mixed with the guitar work keep this song moving from open to close.  Title track “Hate Me” marries a heavier groove and bottom end with the poppier feel of the rest of the disc, giving this song a cool sound.  The slowed tempo and more intense vocals add to the songs character and depth.  “I Won’t Break” is another track that has a classic ETF sound that swirls together with the more guitar-driven sound of this disc.  The sound of the vocals and guitars complement each other and really lift the rhythm section into the mix.  Disc closer “Let Me Be” is a total left turn for the band, but it fits within the parameters of the disc.  Mabbitt brings his vocal A-game to the track, while the guitars keep the song flowing.  Ortiz’s drums give the song perfect timing and tempo, keeping it from disappearing among the heavier tracks on the collection.

​​​​​​Tracklisting: Just A Memory – Live for Today – Remember Every Scar – Breaking Me Down – Alive – Get Up, Get Out – Hate Me – Les Enfants Terribles (The Terrible Children) – I Won’t Break – Let Me Be

Bonus Tracks: Redline – End Of The World – Just A Memory (Remix) – Live for Today (Remix)






Category: CD Reviews

About the Author ()

ToddStar - that's me... just a rocking accountant who had dreams of being a rock star. I get to do the next best thing to rocking the globe - I get to take pictures of the lucky ones that do. I love to shoot all genres of music and different types of performers. If it is related to music, I love to photograph it. I get to shoot and hang with not only some of my friends and idols, but some of the coolest people around today.

Leave a Reply

Please verify you\'re a real person: * Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

banner ad
banner ad