banner ad
banner ad
banner ad

VICTORIUS to Release The Awakening July 16th on SPV/Sonic Attack in North America


Except for HEAVEN SHALL BURN, the Saxonian Metal Scene was mostly obscure in the past. This all changed when Retro Metal Outfit ALPHA TIGER appeared on the scene a year ago. Now the scene is breeding hot metal on an assembly line. The latest talent: VICTORIUS from LEIPZIG. A bunch of young Metal heads full of power and energy.

Their second self-produced album, titled fittingly “The Awakening” landed them a deal with Berlin based Sonic Attack Records, the new label of former NOISE Records Boss Walterbach, and an off-shoot of his new Management firm.

VICTORIUS, formed around composer Dirk Scharsich and singer David Baßin, understands itself in line of the European Power Metal School of the likes such as Mystic Prophecy,Stormwarrior, Hammerfall and Gamma Ray.Since 2006 the band has been active in the local Metal Underground in Saxonia and neighboring states. The first selfproduced recordings for their first 3-track CD where produced in the same year and used for securing a series of live-appearances throughout 2007 and 2008.

Finally in 2010 VICTORIUS undertook the task of producing their debut, titled “Unleash the Titans” consisting of 9 powerful Metal songs. But due to declining CD sales and ignorance towards the German Metal scene by the established Metal Labels the band was unable to secure a record-deal. But the band did not throw in the towel. More shows followed in the wake of the self-distributed album and a new effort was made in 2012 by recording “The Awakening”, their second album under the producer wings of Lars Rettkowitz, guitarist of established Metal band FREEDOM CALL (Steamhammer).The outcome: a convincing work of energetic, technically advanced pure Metal.The deal with SONIC ATTACK RECORDS and a release in Japan through Avalon/Marquee where the immediate result.

After a most recent line-up change, replacing the second guitarist and drummer, the band is now well prepared to commit themselves to the national and international live stage.


  1. AGE OF TYRANNY 03:35
  2. STARFIRE 03:51
  3. THE AWAKENING 04:34
  4. LAKE OF HOPE 04:29
  6. BLACK SUN 04:14
  7. DEMON LEGIONS 05:55
  10. KINGS REBORN 04:29
  11. METAL HEART 03:35


  • David Baßin – Vocals
  • Andreas Dockhorn – Bass
  • Patrick Ziege – Drums
  • Sebastian Rasch – Guitar
  • Dirk Scharsich – Guitar

Release Date Europe:                  June 24th, 2013

Release Date: Germany:             June 21st , 2013

Release Date US/Canada:          July 16th , 2013

Category: Articles

About the Author ()

ToddStar - that's me... just a rocking accountant who had dreams of being a rock star. I get to do the next best thing to rocking the globe - I get to take pictures of the lucky ones that do. I love to shoot all genres of music and different types of performers. If it is related to music, I love to photograph it. I get to shoot and hang with not only some of my friends and idols, but some of the coolest people around today.

Leave a Reply

Please verify you\'re a real person: * Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

banner ad
banner ad