banner ad
banner ad
banner ad

Device – Device

| 14 May 2013 | Reply

Label – Warner Bros. Records
Released – April 2013
Reviewed by Matt Karpe
Rating 8/10

Device - Device CD

After Disturbed went on hiatus towards the end of 2011, fans could be forgiven for fearing the worst.

Shortly after, vocalist and modern metal icon David Draiman announced the pending arrival of Device, a new industrial side-project that he had formed after previously working on a track with ex- Filter guitarist Geno Lenardo.

Half way into 2012, the duo began to work on an album and now, just under a year later, the results are there for all to see.

With star-studded contributions from some of the biggest names in rock, ‘Device’ is a debut of real promise.

‘You Think You Know’, ‘Penance’ and ‘Vilify’ are basically Disturbed under a new name, with Draiman’s provocative vocals shouting and spitting fury, then taking a breath as the melodic choruses infect your brain and leave you singing along.

Despite the tag of industrial metal, only small sampling and minor electronica is evident in these opening tracks, as crunching guitar work from Lenardo overpowers all that came before. This is more alternative metal than industrial, but it is brilliant alternative metal.

‘Hunted’ sounds like modern day Korn, this time heavily reliant on industrial samples; it’s haunting in places, violent in others.

However it’s the collaborations that amaze and stun with such diverse guests that all deliver something special to this album.

‘Close My Eyes Forever’ is a cover of the Lita Ford/Ozzy classic, this time revamped featuring Lzzy Hale from hard rockers Halestorm. This standout track works well as Draiman and Hale’s vocals fit perfectly together in beautiful balladry, Draiman showing his delicate and harmonious side that we don’t see too often. This cover is much heavier musically, the drumming is thunderous and the guitar solo is excellent, making this a modern day power ballad of intricate wisdom.

Tom Morello of Rage Against the Machine fame shows off his guitar work on ‘Opinion’, Avenged Sevenfold vocalist M. Shadows features on ‘Haze’ and Black Sabbath heroes Glenn Hughes and Geezer Butler help out on ‘Through It All’ and ‘Out Of Line’ respectively, the latter song also including Serj Tankian from System Of A Down.

At just over 40 minutes, the album amazes and then pummels you into early submission. It’s a great debut album, but rather a shame that only ten tracks made the final cut.

Whether Disturbed return in the future, who knows?

Whether Device continues what they have started, let’s hope so.


Category: CD Reviews

About the Author ()

Editor, 100% ROCK MAGAZINE

Leave a Reply

Please verify you\'re a real person: * Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

banner ad
banner ad