banner ad
banner ad
banner ad

GINGER – 555% Triple CD

| 10 September 2012 | Reply

self released, April 2012
By Shane Pinnegar

Ginger Wildheart took the unusual step of setting up a fan pledge request through Pledge Music to fund his next project (unusual but not unheard of – and surely for artists with an established following but no major record label bankrolling them, a viable option for the future).

555% is a triple album including contributions from past bandmates and friends. The pledge process received overwhelming support, ending up being something like 580% subscribed – almost SIX TIMES the initial project target. Not only is this a fantastic result in the current financial times and the record industry’s dire situation, it’s testament to the affection Ginger is held by music fans around the world.

Subscribers received all 30 songs in late April, and voted for their favourites, the top scorers of which will make up the track listing of the commercially available 100% album, as follows:

1. Forget About It
2. Internal Radio
3. Lover It’ll all Work Out
4. You’re The One, You’re The One, Yeah, I Know You’re The One, You’re The One (Yeah, I Know You’re The One)
5. It Appears That The Party Is Over
6. Taste Aversion
7. Another Spinning Fucking Rainbow
8. Just Another Song About Someone
9. Westward Ho! (A New Reputation)
10. Beautifully, Blissfully Unsettled
11. We’ve Been Expecting You
12. Time

That these 12 tracks are all killer no filler practically goes without saying – but for those unfamiliar with Ginger’s high quality level, consider yourself told. More on them when the 100% album becomes available – for now, we shall focus on the triple album, and highlight some of the great songs non-subscribers will be missing out on…

Highlights throughout the 3 CD package are almost too many to name – Ginger has always had a knack with a Cheap Trickishly-good hook, and has never been afraid of delving elbows-deep into power-pop one moment, heavy rock the next, and in more recent time adding some electronic flourishes to his glorious and grandiosely beguiling rock songs.

On CD1 of 555%, Deep In The Arms Of Morpheus is one supremely sophisticated tune which perhaps surprisingly didn’t make the cut for the single album – though with so many great songs on offer 100% was always going to be a listener voted popularity contest, and most listeners will have their own twelve personal bests!

Over on CD2, Illuminating Times is another great song, its dark, bittersweetness arguably providing the missing link between The Tea Party and Cheap Trick, before Begin From Within veers a sharp left into Eurodisco stomper before the ex-Wildheart rips out a trademark power pop chorus. The contrast is wicked and delightful.

The third CD has a load of other gems – electro pop rocker Confusion, the epic and emotive, almost Rush styled instrumental In Vino Veritas (“In wine there is truth”), and Very, Very Slow’s pop punk metal to name but a few.

I can’t stop playing these thirty songs – how one man can create this much music this good in this short period of time is just staggering. I can’t wait for the custom made (and available only to pledgers and never available commercially) triple CD and DVD to arrive, and when it does – expect a full review of 100%!!


Category: CD Reviews

About the Author ()

Editor, 100% ROCK MAGAZINE

Leave a Reply

Please verify you\'re a real person: * Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

banner ad
banner ad